pacing, pushing, supporting

race report, back cove week 14 (of the series) -# 6 for me.

I missed last week, so had to do this one to show up in the series standing. Not a big deal, but a goal of mine, so I made the effort to get there, and race this one. I think I made some smarter decisions for this race. I had breakfast, and a mix of lunch foods. I made sure to drink a few pints of water throughout the day, and snacked, when I realized I was a bit hungry at 4:30.  I went back upstairs to retrieve my shoes and watch(dedicated (non barefoot) runners bring their shoes to races!). I got there with 35 minutes to spare, used the bathroom, and ran lightly for about 10-15 minutes, broken up, while I messed with stuff, retied my shoes, etc. I could have done fine without any of the prep, and none of it put me out, or required any extra planning or time.

I found Tami before the race, confirmed that we were crazy for paying for this stuff, and expressed some excitement. I asked her where the mile markers were for the 5K. This, along with remembering my shoes and watch, made the biggest differences I think. Also, the mile repeats Coach Reilly has me doing. 

Race started, watch started, off we went. Passed mile 1 at 9:28 – wow. Mile 2 at 18:58. Look at me, running even splits. It’s all Tami. She’s right ahead of me, or 2 feet in front. I’m that annoying person, just off her left side.  She seemed ok with it. She shouted off the miles when her watch told her. She told me when we reached 1/2 mile left. I told her to turn up her gear, and blast away from me (her average is about 30 seconds faster than my best). I’m  not sure if she turned up the gear, or let me stay with her, but I did. 1/2 mile. that’s 800 meters, 2 laps, I know how much that is now, thanks to track workouts. I know where the finish line is for the series. The watch said 27 or 28. I turned it up. We turned that last corner, I initiated a sprint to the finish (prematurely *GASP*) The clock said 29:0x when I could see it. I really wanted to finish with a 29:2x. the last sprint was longer than i thought. She finished 1 second faster (in the low key timing). 29:31 for me.

So pleased with the consistent effort, and 2nd best time of the series, and 2nd best time in my 5k history. 

Take Aways from 6 races in 14 weeks:

  • running the summer is hot, I do better when it’s less than 70
  • I do better when i have water. i stopped at 1 water fountain for a sip, and wish they would put another one in right before the bridge.
  • it’s been helping my distance understanding
  • it messed up my TMR Tuesday night runs (major CON)
  • it was great to see more runners in portland. every week I met a few new people.
One thought on “pacing, pushing, supporting

  1. Jeff says:

    That mental understanding of distance and pace that you learn from the track is invaluable when racing. Great job!

Leave a Reply

